Wine Show WA Awards – 2017

The Wine Show of Western Australia is celebrating its 40th year, and on Friday night we were invited along to the Grand Ballroom at the Hyatt in the Perth for their Gala Awards Dinner – and the chance to taste the award winning wines, enjoy fine food from the Hyatt kitchen, and meet and talk with many of the winemakers.


The ballroom was set up with long tables with a projected display of wine barrels as backing on the stage– making the room seem a banqueting hall. Very effective.

Entertainingly hosted by Verity James and Gerry Gannon the evening began with pre-dinner drinks in the alcove off the ballroom and progressing to our tables we moved through tasting plate, entrée, main, cheese and dessert courses, and with each a set of three wines.


The food, as could be expected at the Hyatt, complemented the wines on display – I was particularly taken with a dish of 40 degree slow cooked salmon, served with anise myrtle, beetroot, dill oil, yuzu gel, fennel, avocado cream and pea powder – the fish was succulent and luscious, the accompaniments perfectly pitched.

It was a very well-produced night, the wines excellent and the entertainment at the conclusion bringing many to the dance floor.


The wines naturally were the focus and a list of the winners follows culminating in the trophy for Best Wine of the Show – of course the Wine Show of WA judges exclusively Western Australian wine. The judges, however, are from around Australia and overseas. Iain Riggs from the Hunter Valley’s Brokenwood Wines was the chief judge and he was ably assisted by panel leaders Sarah Pidgeon (Wynns), Dave Brookes (Wine Marketing Labs and Australian Gourmet Traveller), Cath Oates (Plantagenet Wines) and judges Dave Johnson (Credaro Family Estate), Andrew Cherry (Alkoomi), Severine Logan (Watershed), Michelle Bouffard (guest judge from Canada), Damien Hutton (Millbrook) and Patrick Haddock (wine journalist and Reserve Wine Bar sommelier).

Pre-Emptive Strike Trophy Best Sauvignon Blanc

2017 Abbey Creek

Silverlock Packaging Best 2017 Riesling


2017 Alkoomi White Label

WA Property Lawyers Trophy Best Rosé

2017 Larry Cherubino Ad Hoc PIP Grenache Rosé

Multi-Colour Australia Trophy Best White Blend

2017 Fishbones Sauvignon Blanc Semillon

Pam McGregor Trophy sponsored by Kudos Creative Best Aged Riesling

2014 Robert Oatley Finisterre Porongurup

Perth Podiatric Surgery Trophy Best Chardonnay

2016 Nocturne


Vinro Wine Filtration Trophy Best Pinot Noir

2016 Zarephath

Neale Warneford Trophy, sponsored by the Warneford Family and the Mount Barker and Districts Agricultural Society Best Red Blend

2014 Brookland Valley Cabernet Merlot

Print Hall Trophy Best Shiraz

2015 Houghton The Bandit

Ian Tyrer Trophy, sponsored by Galafrey Wines and the Mount Barker Wine Producers Best Cabernet Sauvignon

2014 Watershed The Awakening

Smith Thornton Accountants Trophy Best Older Red Wine

2013 Houghton Wisdom Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Sweet or Fortified Wine Trophy

Gralyn NV Artizan Rare Muscat

HLB Mann Judd Trophy Best Single Vineyard Wine

2017 Alkoomi White Label Riesling

JS Gladstone Trophy Best and Most Distinctive Regional Character

2014 Watershed The Awakening Cabernet Sauvignon

Air Liquide Trophy Wine with Highest Aggregate for Top 3 pointed wines

Houghton Wines

Shire of Plantagenet Trophy Most Successful Exhibitor under 250 tonnes

Mandoon Estate

Mount Barker Branch Bendigo Bank Trophy Most Successful Exhibitor Overall

Xanadu Wines

Portavin Integrated Wine Services Trophy Best White Wine of Show

2017 Alkoomi White Label Riesling

Perth Airport Trophy Best Red Wine of Show

2014 Watershed The Awakening Cabernet Sauvignon

Singapore Airlines Trophy Best Wine of Show

2014 Watershed The Awakening Cabernet Sauvignon


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *